Loopus Interruptus – Album review – Document

Series nameLoop Guru

This is an album review written by Ian Watson in 2001, for ‘Loopus Interruptus – Forgotten Treasures and Lost Artefacts’. The review was utilised for a press release as well as used on the inside back cover of the album’s CD sleeve. ‘Loopus Interruptus’ was a fifteen-track album, compiled by Nation Records and featured vocals from Cat Von Trapp, Count Dubullah, Hamilee, Mad Jym, Natacha Atlas, Nidahl Bulbul, Sussan Deyhim, The Later Jim Chase, The Pleasure Dome and Zahrema.

Date of Creation / Publication2001
CreatorNation Records
Associated Person/ OrganisationWatson, Ian
Collection and Reference NumberNation Records Collection (GB 2661 NR)
Catalogue NumberNR/OB/LG/3
CopyrightThe Creator and/ or associated person or organisation where applicable
Access to originalsThe originals are located at Nation Records Limited
Series notesLoop Guru's core members are friends Salman Gita and Jamuud. They had known each other for nine years when they were introduced to Nation Records through Transglobal Underground. The dance and punk rock group released their first single in 1992, 'M'rabet/ The Shrine' and were awarded the NME Single of the Week. 'Duniya', Loop Guru's first album, released on Nation Records in 1994, was steeped in Arabic and Indian rhythyms. Loop Guru have featured British, Iranian, Indian and Moroccan singers and artistes. Unlike other bands, who sample selections from songs, Loop Guru use random, unrecognizable snippets of music or even pure sound. They have toured North America, the Far East and Eastern Europe. Halfway through 1994, the band signed to North South Records after having released four singles on Nation Records Limited. Loop Guru are currently establishing their own independent record label, Elsewhen Records.
Collection notesThe material from the Nation Records collection consists of various CD covers, press releases, promotional photography, lyrics and flyers from twelve of the bands signed to the record label since 1989.