Monkfish Moon – Book

Series nameMonkfish Moon

Several pages of the first two short stories from Gunesekera’s Monkfish Moon have been digitised. The first is Storm Petrel and the second is Monkfish Moon. The collection was published in 1992 by Granta Books and was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers Prize in 1993.

Date of Creation / Publication1992
CreatorGranta Books
Associated Person/ OrganisationGunesekera, Romesh
Collection and Reference NumberRomesh Gunesekera Collection (GB 2661 RG)
Catalogue NumberRG/SN/MM/4
CopyrightThe Creator and/ or the associated
Access to originalsThe originals are located with Romesh Gunesekera
Series notesMonkfish Moon was Gunesekera's first collection of short stories. Published in 1992 by Granta Books, the collection includes nine short stories set in Sri Lanka. Monkfish Moon depicts a war ravaged Sri Lanka as well as the country's breath-taking beauty. Monkfish Moon was a finalist for the Commonwealth Writers Prize in 1993.

Collection notesThe Romesh Gunesekera Collection contains digital extracts of his short stories and novels, as well as several poems. The material also includes photographs, handwritten detailed research notes, and annotated manuscripts.