Displacing the Priest – CD Sleeve

Series nameNitin Sawhney

This album by Nitin Sawhney was released by Outcaste Records in February 1996. Entitled ‘Displacing the Priest’, the album has been described by music reviewer Linton Chiswick as being Sawhney’s personal reflection on spirituality. The album includes musical and vocal contributions from fourteen artists, including Denise Anyogu, Jayanta Bose, Badmash, Chitraleka Bolar, Balu, Chandrashekhar, Nina Miranda, Aref Dervesh, Kadri Dervesh, Charles Oleghe, Steve Shehan-Jembe, Devinder Singh, Srikanth Sriram and rapper JC 001. The CD sleeve contains lyrics and notes written by Nitin Sawhney for each track, as well as an album review by Linton Chiswick.The CD Sleeve consists of three colour digitised pages.

Date of Creation / Publication1996
CreatorOutcaste Records; Jobanputra, Shabs
Associated Person/ Organisation
Collection and Reference NumberOutcaste Records Collection (GB 2661 OC)
Catalogue NumberOC/ART/NS/3
CopyrightThe Creator and/ or associated person or organisation where applicable.
Access to originalsThe originals are located at Outcaste Records
Series notesNitin Sawhney signed to Outcaste Records in 1993 and was the first artist to sign to the label. An award winning writer, comedian, actor and scriptwriter, Sawhney is in great demand as a musician, songwriter, producer and re-mixer. His albums are diverse in global musical influence and symbolism and have received numerous accolades. He and his band regularly tour internationally.
Collection notesA major label in world music, Outcaste Records was formed in 1995 by Shabs Jobanputra and Paul Franklyn. Based in London, the record label endeavours to maintain a creative space for artists of world music and produce music for and by young British Asians that reflect their South Asian and British cultural traditions. Outcaste are also dedicated to making this music increasingly accessible and appreciated to mainstream audiences.